Wild mushroom tart

Apologies for being MIA the past few weeks!  Spring is always a busy time of year, but this year the busyness seemed to start a bit early — and it took me a little off guard!

But it’s time I get my act together, as there is much to be done!  I need to get my garden in order, plan some activities to get out and enjoy the impending nice weather, start formally training for my triathlon, and there are always events to be cooking for. And I promise to be better about recording everything!

And that’s what I was doing this past weekend — a dear person close to Mr. R’s and my heart is getting married soon, and Saturday was her bridal shower.  In accordance with the brunch theme, we made some quiches.  Well, mine was not exactly a quiche, but the same idea.  Inspired by this recipe, it was easy to do the morning of.

Wild mushroom tart

Olive oil cooking spray
1 pie crust, prebaked for 10 minutes at 450
1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese, divided
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup thinly sliced shallots
3/4 pound mixed wild mushrooms (such as chanterelles, oysters or creminis), roughly chopped
2-3 scallions or 1 bunch of chives, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup vegetable broth
1/2 cup crème fraîche

Method

Saute the shallots in butter until golden, about five minutes, and add the mushrooms, salt and pepper.  Saute for another few minutes until cooked down some, and add the broth and wine.  Keep cooking until all the liquid is absorbed, about 10 minutes.  Mix in the crème fraîche and again cook until liquid has absorbed/evaporated, and remove from heat. Mix in the scallions or chives.

Sprinkle 1/2 cup of the cheese on the bottom of the prebaked pie crust, and spread mushroom mixture evenly in the crust.  Spread remaining cheese generously on top.  Reduce oven temperature to 350, and bake pie for about 35 minutes, until crust is nice and golden and the center is bubbly.

I thought this tart was good — but it evoked a more autumnal feeling, what with the mushrooms, wine and cream.  So I would make it again, but probably in the fall or winter.

Nonetheless, I know it won’t be too long now till the farmer’s market opens and we start to see spring produce flowing in –and though I really can’t wait,  I’ll enjoy these wintery vegetables while I can!

-R

8 thoughts on “Wild mushroom tart

  1. Erin

    That looks and sounds and sounds delicious. I’m going to have to give it a go. I’m finding myself vacillating wildly between wanting summer food and still wanting winter food lately. I guess that’s the shoulder season for ya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

