It’s Christmas cookie season!

Now is the time to start amassing your Christmas cookie spread.  I’ve just spent the past five hours laboring over these Christmas tree sugar cookies below, so it’s never too early to get a head start!

Once the icing on these sets, into the freezer they will go, to emerge on Christmas Eve.

(Here is a good tutorial on decorated sugar cookies if you’re interested).

I’m planning to make some snowflake-shaped sugar cookies in addition to these.  And we usually make some white chocolate-macadamia nut cookies as well.  But beyond that, Mr. R and I are still considering the options.  The Washington Post Food Section comes out with a cookie issue each year, and we’ve had success with their recipes in the past — I can’t wait for this year’s to come out next week.  In the meantime, I’ll keep researching…anyone have any favorite Christmas cookie recipes?

-R

5 thoughts on “It’s Christmas cookie season!

  1. Barsyames

    Oh my, those look amazing. I love baking but don’t have the patience for decorating, but you are inspiring me to change.

    Reply
  2. gugelhupf

    Those look so gorgeous! I didn’t know you could freeze the pre-frosted cookies, that’s a great tip.

    What about the really thin crispy Moravian spice cookies? I’ve never made them but they’re delicious and a Christmas tradition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

