Easy weeknight chickpea-cauliflower curry

Cauliflower is another plant in the brassica family that never gets a lot of love.  I mean, it looks like colorless broccoli.  How can it possibly taste good and contain any nutritional value?

Like all brassica plants, however, cauliflower contains a considerable amount of fiber, nutrients like folate, and cancer-fighting phytochemicals.  And with its subtle flavor, it is a great veggie to add to highly flavorful soups and stews.

Last night I made this recipe with a few adjustments:
-I’m not a fan of sweet potatoes so I used russet potatoes instead
-Reduced the amount of carrots
-Used frozen spinach
-Instead of the cinnamon stick, cumin and coriander, I used a homemade garam masala spice blend.*

The results:

I thought this recipe was okay.  Not as flavorful as other basic Indian-spiced curries I have made using a homemade simmer sauce, but it was much easier and more appropriate for a weeknight.  I would recommend using fresh spinach instead and be sure to salt it sufficiently.

Although it didn’t blow me away, I think I would still make it again — it was a good way to pack vegetables into my diet in a fairly easy, one-pot meal.

-R

*Garam Masala
3 bay leaves
1/2 cup peppercorns
1/3 cup cardamon pods
10 cinnamon sticks
1/4 cup cloves
2 T coriander seeds
1/4 cup cumin seeds
Dry toast spices in a skillet for a few minutes until spices are fragrant.
Grind toasted spices in a coffee grinder.
Makes a LOT — might be a good idea to make a batch now, package up the extra and give to friends and family as holiday gifts!

Leave a Reply

