Day two: pumpkin pie

**Updated:  now with photos!**

Well I am out of town today, and though I have a computer and my camera, I am without means to connect the two.  So tomorrow I will update this post with photos, but I do want to make sure I keep my word on posting a new pie recipe every day!

Mr. R and I have been in the kitchen all afternoon making a huge batch of pie crusts.  Let me tell you, rolling out fresh pie dough is SO much easier than one that has been frozen or chilled overnight!  So we had the genious idea to roll them out right away and freeze them right in the pans — much better!  I’ll also update the pie crust post with photos that look a little less laborious and intimidating.

Anyway.  Back to today’s pie.  Pumpkin.  I must admit that pumpkin ranks among my most favorite pies.  Perhaps even tied for #1 with key lime.  Maybe it’s because it is so closely associated with the holiday season, celebrations, and lots of good food.  Either way, there’s just something so inviting about that special blend of spices and its silky, custardy texture.

This time of year you see a lot of pre-made pumpkin pies pop up in supermarket bakeries — but I find that, for whatever reason, they are not even comparable to the real thing.  Pumpkin pie is a pretty fool-proof recipe anyway, so I encourage you to make it yourself!

The following has been adapted from various recipes over the years.

Ingredients
2 cups pumpkin puree (or one can)
1 cup half and half
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon each of:  ground ginger, ground cloves, freshly ground nutmeg
(feel free to adjust the spice amounts as desired)
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
1 9-inch pie crust (instructions)
Optional:  heavy whipping cream

Method
Mix pumpkin puree, half and half, salt and spices in a saucepan over medium heat.  Simmer until thickened, about 5 minutes.  If using fresh pumpkin, make sure all water is evaporated.  Remove from heat and allow to cool no less than 10 minutes.

While puree mixture is cooling, whisk together brown sugar with eggs and egg yolk.  When the pumpkin is cooled (so as not to cook the eggs), mix that in too.

Pour filling into an unbaked pie crust and place in an oven preheated to 450.  After 15 minutes, reduce temperature to 350 and bake approximately 40-50 minutes more, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Allow to cool for a minimum of two hours.  Beat heavy cream with your choice of sweetener (I like maple syrup when serving with pumpkin pie) until it peaks.

Serve and enjoy!

-R

Leave a Reply

